Instagram

RSVP Your Seats for The Picture Review May Fair on Eventbrite Now! MAY FAIR TICKETS.


UPDATE SPRING 2015

Salutations + + +

I am delighted to share The Picture Review team has reconvened and is hard at work with the Color Two class crafting a most boss gala. We will begin posting behind the scenes pictures and info soon, there is much to do and share!

In our continuing series of talks on the process, craft and life of working in the visual arts, we are simply thrilled to host Mr. Michael O’Brien, In Conversation on May 16th.

From his biography, “Michael O’Brien is one of the country’s premier portrait photographers. In a career that has spanned four decades, O’Brien has photographed subjects ranging from presidents to small-town heroes. His candid, unapologetic style captures the dignity and humanity of his subjects, whether they be celebrities or “ordinary” people. His work has appeared in numerous magazines, including Life, National Geographic, Texas Monthly, the London Sunday Times, and many others."

O’Brien has twice been the recipient of the Robert F. Kennedy Award for outstanding coverage of the disadvantaged and is the author of two books: The Face of Texas, 2003 and 2014, and Hard Ground, 2011. His photographs are in the permanent collections of the Smithsonian’s National Portrait Gallery in Washington, D.C.; the International Center of Photography in New York; the Houston Museum of Fine Arts; and the Wittliff Collection of Mexican and Southwestern Photography at Texas State University.

RSVP your tickets on eventbrite.com beginning April 15th.

Behold, The Picture Review May Fair. Come one, come all, family and friends – your presence is eagerly awaited at the grandest party of the season!

Our best to you always, The Picture Review Team.

‪#‎InConversation‬ ‪#‎Hahnemühle‬ ‪#ACCPhoto‬

 

UPDATE WINTER 2014

Howdy + + +

It is our distinct pleasure to invite you and yours, alumni, family and all friends to come celebrate and join us during The Winter Reviews, on Saturday, December 13th, 2014.

Beginning at 12pm we will host the opening reception for Connections – a special exhibition of large scale photographs produced by the fall Color Two class. Curated from well over a hundred images, these selected pictures speak to the physical manifestations found in the pursuit of discovery and repose. Printed on beautiful 350g Museum Etching from Hahnemühle at three feet in size, it will be an awesome display.

At 2pm, in our continuing series about process and craft, we will host the exceptional, nationally regarded book-artist and binder Jace Graf for, “On The Book & Printed Object, a conversation with Jace Graf and Sean Perry.” This is not to be missed! Mr. Graf is bringing many wonderful things to see and we will explore some rather lavish editions he has produced for private collections, museums and artists including Kate Breakey, Maggie Taylor, Kenro Izu, Keith Carter, Jessica Lange, Sam Abell and Dan Winters.

We will conclude the day with a portfolio and book social from 4 to 5pm. Please bring your work to share! It is a lovely opportunity to visit and see what your classmates and our alumni have been making. Prints, portfolios, your favorite photography books and ephemera – all are welcome and encouraged. This takes place at the Northridge campus against the handsome backdrop of the Fall 2014 Dept. of Photographic Technology Print Show. Please save the date and join us! The Color Two and Advanced Lab students, Ms. Kathryn, Ms. Christine, Mr. Curry and I are all working hard to make this event happen and remarkable, we would love to see you there!

Our best to you always, The Picture Review Team.

Northridge Campus | 11928 Stonehollow Drive | BLDG 3000 | Austin, TX 78758

‪#‎ConnectionsExhibition‬ ‪#‎Hahnemühle‬ ‪#‎TheWinterReviews‬


!! LAUNCHING EDITION THREE FALL 2014 !!

UPDATE SUMMER 2014

Howdy +++

We had a wonderful time hosting the reception for Edition Two in May, congratulations to all! We would like to extend a heartfelt thank you to everyone that could attend, as well as to our generous sponsor for Edition Two, Museo Fine Art. Below are the selected exhibitors and the Edition Two Mentors, as always we deeply appreciate your support and being a part of The Picture Review!

With our best always – The Picture Review Team

Selected Exhibitors

Best in Show | Keenan Nichols-Argo | Burger & Cone

First Place | Timothy Whaling | Urban Jungle

Second Place | Nick Yeager | Buck

Third Place | Grace Scoggin | The Race

Honarble Mentions

Anastasiya Zinchenko | Lone Star

Audrey Ashburn | Rodeo Austin

Lucy Anderson | The Run From The Other Half But Which Half?

Matthew Van Hoorn | The Diamond

Matthew Van Hoorn | The Swamp

Nick Yeager | Winter Hike

Edition Two Mentors

Mr. Babak Pejman Aryan
Ms. Rachelle Bendixen
Ms. Joan Brook
Ms. Maja Buck
Ms. Sara Buckingham
Ms. Stevi Cotton
Mr. Steven Heger
Ms. Jennifer Klanika
Ms. Carrie Logan
Ms. Patthama Maneerote
Mr. Bruce Peele
Mr. Andrew Porras
Ms. Lacey Seymour
Ms. Valerie Steinkoenig
Ms. Angela Stipe
Mr. Trevor Temple
Ms. Bethany Wagner
Mr. Emerson Walter
Mr. Ira Weinschel

photo(s) © Babak Pejman Aryan for The Picture Review.


UPDATE MARCH 2014

Howdy + Happy Spring!

We are pleased to announce Edition Two has begun!!

The theme for Edition Two is Texas! What it means to you – who you are, where you are, what you see and feel.... We want to know and look at pictures about what you love, think, experience and imagine here in Texas. The Call for Entry details are below and we look forward to seeing your pictures. All questions and comments appreciated, let us know if you need anything at all.

We are thrilled to be sponsored by Museo Fine Art and are printing Silver Rag exclusively for Edition Two.

With our best always – The Picture Review Team

DOWNLOAD PDF | EDITION TWO CALL FOR ENTRY

THE PICTURE REVIEW is a unique, interactive call for entry founded by artists Kathryn Watts-Martinez and Sean Perry. Edition One launched for the Fall Semester in the Department of Photographic Technology at Austin Community College. Edition Two has arrived and brings a new theme, Texas! What it means to you – who you are, where you are, what you see and feel.... We want to know and look at pictures about what you love, think, experience and imagine here in Texas.

Area High School students are invited to participate and submit their best photographs to the category Texas. Students may enter up to 5 images that were not previously submitted for Edition One. The Advanced Imaging and Color Two classes at Austin Community College will review the photographs and record short Screencast videos offering feedback with helpful insight – to build mentorship, and create meaningful dialogue about photography and image making. These videos will be uploaded to a private account for each participant and a link sent back via email.

From all images submitted, The Picture Review mentors will first select up to 12 photographs to be exhibited in the Spring 2014 Austin Community College Photography Print Show. From those selections an award will be presented to Best in Show. We will also select First, Second, Third places as well as Honorable Mentions.


EDITION TWO | OFFICIAL RULES & ENTRY PROCESS

ENTRY DETAILS
The review will open on March 15th, 2014 and will remain open until April 15th, 2014. All entries must be submitted digitally via email to submissions@thepicturereview.com

ELIGIBILITY
Area High School Students may submit images for consideration. All forms of photography will be accepted, including photo-composites and photo-illustrations. Work must be original and created by the person making the submission. Please do not submit images that were previously submitted to Edition One!

SELECTION CRITERIA
Any photographs within the Edition Two theme of Texas will be accepted. The Picture Review is especially interested in photography that represents a students unique point of view – individual expression of culture and sense of place. We want to see your best work! The Picture Review reserves the right, at its sole discretion, to disqualify and remove any entry for any reason.

AWARDS
From all the images submitted, The Picture Review will first select up to 12 Mentor’s Selection images to be exhibited in Fall Austin Community College Photography Print Show. From those selections an award will be presented to Best in Show. We will also select First, Second, Third places as well as Honorable Mentions.

ENTRY FEE
There are no costs, or entry fees.

CALENDAR
The Spring 2014 Picture Review opens on March 15th, 2014 and the submission window will be open for four weeks. Deadline for submissions: Tuesday, April 15th, 2014, at midnight Central Standard Time.

EXHIBITION
An exhibition and opening reception will be held at the Northridge Campus of Austin Community College on Thursday, May 8th, 2014. All Mentor’s Selection images will be displayed and the Best in Show selection will be announced at a special reception for all on Saturday May 10th. The winning prints will become part of the permanent collection of the Austin Community College Photography Department.

IMAGE FILE GUIDELINES
All images will be submitted digitally. No more than five files, per applicant, in any combination of black & white and color. All files must be 72 dpi JPGs, with no side of the images exceeding 1,000 pixels or 2MB in file size. In the metadata please include Student Name, High School Attended, Art or Photography Teacher and Titles for images. File titles should include the applicant’s name and category submitted to with no spaces or special characters. (For example: “JohnSmith_People_01.jpg”)

IMAGE FILE SUBMISSIONS
Files should be emailed to submissions@thepicturereview.com and in the body of the email please include Student Name, High School Attended, Art or Photography Teacher and Titles for images. Students are also encouraged to include any questions about photography and image making within their email for the ACC Mentors!

NOTIFICATION & PRINTING
All applicants will receive a private link back to a short Screencast video containing feedback and actionable ideas towards improving their images.

Applicants who are among the Mentor’s Selection winners will be notified via email on or about April 24th, 2014, and will receive further details about image files needed for the exhibition. Photographers will not be asked to provide prints. Upon notification winners will be asked to email a high resolution file of their image. At no cost to the photographer, an archival ink jet print on Museo Silver Rag paper will be produced by the participating students in the Advanced Imaging and Color Two Classes at Austin Community College.

USAGE & RIGHTS
All entrants agree that images included in the Mentor’s Selections may be used by Austin Community College for educational and promotional purposes directly related to The Picture Review initiative and the Photographic Technology Department. All winning entrants also agree that prints displayed in the exhibition will become part of the permanent collection of Austin Community College. Austin Community College reserves the right to display winning prints, either traditionally or electronically, at any time in the future – always crediting the photographer and with no implied claim on copyright. A submission automatically implies the applicant’s acceptance of all the contest rules. Photographers will be credited at every usage. Copyright and all other reproduction rights remain that of the artist.

CONTACT & QUESTIONS
For additional information or help with registration, please contact The Picture Review via email, hello@thepicturereview.com and find us online at www.thepicturereview.com




----


!! SUBMISSIONS FOR EDITION TWO OPEN IN MID–MARCH!!


UPDATE FEBRUARY 2014

Howdy all!!

We hope this finds you well and we are so looking forward to Edition Two! We plan to annouce the submission dates shortly, so stay tuned! We have 24 new mentors for our team this time, we look forward to seeing your work.

The theme for Edition Two is Texas! What it means to you – who you are, where you are, what you see and feel.... We want to know and look at pictures about what you love, think, experience and imagine here in Texas. More to follow very soon.

With our best always – The Picture Review Team


Selected exhibitor Megan Dale (center) w/TPR Founders Sean Perry and Kathryn Watts-Martinez.
photo © Babak Pejman Aryan for The Picture Review.


----


UPDATE JANUARY
2014

Happy New Year and we hope this finds you well! We were so delighted to host the reception for Edition One in December and congratualtions to all! Here are the selected exhibitors and the Edition One Mentors, as always thank you for being a part of The Picture Review.

Best in Show -- Gas Globes, Madelyn Szilagyi-Jones

Places
Booksmart -- Megan Dale
After Party -- Roberto Jaimes
Irish Catherdral -- Cade Ritter

People
Window Lit -- Lucy Anderson
Panama -- Grace Scoggin
Old Soul -- Beatriz Castillo

Thing
Grand Chandiler -- Roberto Jaimes
Trout -- Nick Appling
Untitled Flower -- Anastasiia Zinchenko

Honorable Mention
Fairy Dust -- Miriam Rice
Colette -- Maya Crose
Looking Glass -- Megan Dale
Untitled -- Anastasiia Zinchenko

Edition One Mentors
Jeremiah Alvarado
Babak Pejman Aryan
Rachelle Bendixen
Maja Buck
Sara Buckingham
Elaine Childress
Kimberly Felsher
Payam Golshan
Romy John
Johnny Leblanc
Charles Leiper
Patthama Maneerote
Cassie McIntosh
Andrew Porras
Miguel Quiroga
Pamela Rodriguez
Lacey Seymour
Natalie Scott
Valerie Steinkoenig
Angela Stipe
Gloria Uridel
Ira Weinschel

Best in Show winner Madelyn Szilagyi-Jones!
photo © Babak Pejman Aryan for The Picture Review.


With our best always – The Picture Review Team

 

!! SUBMISSIONS FOR EDITION ONE ARE NOW CLOSED !!


UPDATE DECEMBER 5th 2013

The Picture Review Team is hard at work crafting prints for the exhibition and recording the short screencast movies for everyone.... more very soon from here!

We hope all that submitted will join us at an exclusive reception to the Fall 2013 Precision Photographic Excellence Awards, on Saturday, December 14 from 12:00 PM to 2:00 PM at The Photography Department – Austin Community College 11928 Stonehollow Dr. Building 3000 Austin, TX 78758.

We welcome you, your family and friends as our distinguished guests to celebrate Edition One as we recognize selections from our Fall call for work alongside the best in the Austin Community College Photography Department this semester. From over 360 entries The Picture Review Mentors have chosen nine category finalists, honorable mentions and a special award for Best in Show. All will be on display and we are delighted to gift an iPad Mini to our Best in Show artist during the reception at 1pm on Saturday, December 14th.

We hope to see you there!

It has been a privilege to spend time with your pictures and we look forward to what you make next when we launch Edition Two in the New Year!

With our best always – The Picture Review Team

 

UPDATE NOVEMBER 21st 2013

Hello & we hope this finds you well! Edition One submissions closed November 15th and we were thrilled to receive over 360 entries. Our student mentors have been busy reviewing the work and creating the screencasts that will be sent to all that submitted, starting early December through mid-month. Our heartfelt thanks to all that contributed.

We will be announcing the category selections this Monday, November 25th via email and we are delighted the work will be exhibited and honored at the "Austin Community College Photographic Excellence Awards" ceremony on Thursday, December 12th and at a special reception for The Picture Review participants on Saturday, December 14 from 12:00 PM to 2:00 PM | The Photography Department – Austin Community College 11928 Stonehollow Dr. Building 3000 Austin, TX 78758.

Stay tuned for updates here – EDITION TWO will launch in the New Year!

With our best always – The Picture Review Team


 

DOWNLOAD PDF

THE PICTURE REVIEW

The Picture Review is a unique, interactive call for entry launched by The Department of Photographic Technology at Austin Community College, debuting during the 2013 Fall Semester.

Area High School students are invited to participate and submit their best photographs to the following categories – People, Places or Things. Students may enter photographs in all three categories, up to 5 images in each category, for a total of no more than 15 entries per student. The Advanced Imaging Classes at Austin Community College will review the photographs and record short screencast videos offering feedback with helpful insight – to build mentorship, and create meaningful dialogue about photography and image making. These videos will be uploaded to a private account for each participant and a link sent back via email.

From all images submitted, The Picture Review mentors will first select up to 9 photographs – 1st, 2nd, 3rd in each category to be exhibited in Fall Austin Community College Photography Print Show. From those selections an award will be presented to “Best in Show.”


OFFICIAL RULES & ENTRY PROCESS

ENTRY DETAILS
The review will open on October 1st, 2013 and will remain open until November 15th, 2013. All entries must be submitted digitally via email to submissions@thepicturereview.com

ELIGIBILITY
Area High School Students may submit images for consideration. All forms of photography will be accepted, including photo-composites and photo-illustrations. Work must be original and created by the person making the submission.

SELECTION CRITERIA
Any photographs within the categories of People, Places and Things will be accepted. The Picture Review is especially interested in photography that represents a students unique point of view – individual expression of culture and sense of place. We want to see your best work! The Picture Review reserves the right, at its sole discretion, to disqualify and remove any entry for any reason.

AWARDS
From all the images submitted, The Picture Review will first select up to 9 Mentor’s Selection images to be exhibited in Fall Austin Community College Photography Print Show. From those selections an award will be presented to “Best in Show”.

ENTRY FEE
There are no costs, or entry fees.

CALENDAR
The Fall 2013 Picture Review opens on October 1st, 2013 and the submission window will be open for six weeks. Deadline for submissions: Friday, November 15th, 2013, at midnight Central Standard Time.

EXHIBITION
An exhibition and opening reception will be held at the Northridge Campus of Austin Community College on Thursday, December 12th, 2013. All Mentor’s Selection images will be displayed and the Best in Show selection will be announced. The winning prints will become part of the permanent collection of the Austin Community College Photography Department.

IMAGE FILE GUIDELINES
All images will be submitted digitally. No more than five files per category, per applicant, in any combination of black & white and color – a total of no more than 15 images per student. All files must be 72 dpi JPGs, with no side of the images exceeding 1,000 pixels or 2MB in file size. In the metadata please include Student Name, High School Attended, Art or Photography Teacher and Titles for images. File titles should include the applicant’s name and category submitted to with no spaces or special characters. (For example: “JohnSmith_People_01.jpg”)

IMAGE FILE SUBMISSIONS
Files should be emailed to submissions@thepicturereview.com and in the body of the email please include Student Name, High School Attended, Art or Photography Teacher and Titles for images. Students are also encouraged to include any questions about photography and image making within their email for the ACC Mentors!

NOTIFICATION & PRINTING
All applicants will receive a private link back to a short Screencast video containing feedback and actionable ideas towards improving their images.

Applicants who are among the Mentor’s Selection winners will be notified via email on or about November 21st, 2013, and will receive further details about image files needed for the exhibition. Photographers will not be asked to provide prints. Upon notification winners will be asked to email a high resolution file of their image. At no cost to the photographer, an ink jet print on high quality paper will be produced by the participating students in the Advanced Imaging Classes at Austin Community College.

USAGE & RIGHTS
All entrants agree that images included in the Mentor’s Selections may be used by Austin Community College for educational and promotional purposes directly related to The Picture Review initiative and the Photographic Technology Department. All winning entrants also agree that prints displayed in the exhibition will become part of the permanent collection of Austin Community College. Austin Community College reserves the right to display winning prints, either traditionally or electronically, at any time in the future – always crediting the photographer and with no implied claim on copyright. A submission automatically implies the applicant’s acceptance of all the contest rules. Photographers will be credited at every usage. Copyright and all other reproduction rights remain that of the artist.

CONTACT & QUESTIONS
For additional information or help with registration, please contact The Picture Review via email, hello@thepicturereview.com and find us online at www.thepicturereview.com

 

15th JULY 2014


ACC Logo